Zaitseva, Svendsen Win IBU World Cup 5 Sprints; Russell Currier with Career-Best Sixth

Olga Zaitseva and Emil Hegle Svendsen continued their winning ways, taming difficult conditions with skill and a little bit of luck, while Russell Currier came out of nowhere to earn some flowers with a sixth place finish.

Zaitseva was the only competitor to shoot clean in the Women’s Sprint (IBU article, results), giving her a comfortable 25.5 second win over Tora Berger, who had two penalties. Magdalena Neuner was third, 34.5 seconds back with three penalties.

Zina Kocher was 23rd (+2:22.8, four penalties), Megan Imrie was 44th (+3:07.9, five penalties), Susan Dunklee was 45th (+3:10.8, six penalties), Annalies Cook was 51st (+3:22.5, three penalties), Sara Studebaker was 54th (+3:31.8, four penalties) and Tracy Barnes was (+6:39.0, four penalties)

One penalty was just enough for Svendsen to hold off the Fourcade brothers in the Men’s Sprint (IBU article, results). Simon continues to impress this season, finishing 2.7 seconds back with three penalties while Martin was 9.6 seconds back with two penalties. Look for the brothers to feed off of each other in tomorrow’s Pursuit.

Russell Currier finished a career-best 6th place. Starting late in bib 103, Currier was one of only two Men to shoot clean, and finished 23.2 seconds back.

Tim Burke was 11th (+47.8, two penalties), Lowell Bailey was 21st (+1:22.6, two penalties), Jay Hakkinen was 31st (+1:50.8, two penalties), Brendan Green (+1:51.3, three penalties), JP Le Guellec was 35th (+1:59.1, three penalties) and Scott Perras was 45th (+2:10.1, four penalties).

Tomorrow is the last day of IBU World Cup 5 with the Women’s Pursuit at 6:45 Eastern, 3:45 Pacific and the Men’s Pursuit at 8:30 Eastern, 5:30 Pacific.

Leave a Reply