World Championships Underway as Norway Wins Mixed Relay Gold

The 2013 IBU World Championships started today, as Norway was victorious in the Mixed Relay (results, IBU article).

The Norwegian team of Tora Berger, Synnoeve Solemdal, Tarjei Boe and Emil Hegle Svendsen looked strong throughout the competition and only needed 4 extra rounds to win the gold.

The French team of Marie Laure Brunet, Marie Dorin Habert, Alexis Boeuf and Martin Fourcade were 20 seconds back with 8 extra rounds.

To the delight of the home crowds the Czech Republic team of Veronika Vitkova, Gabriela Soukalova, Jaroslav Soukup and Ondrej Moravec finished third, using 6 extra rounds. Moravec sealed the medal with 5/5 shooting in the final standing bout, and the fans went crazy in the stadium.

The US team of Annalies Cook, Susan Dunklee, Lowell Bailey and Leif Nordgren had a great race with an 8th place finish, with 7 extra rounds. The Canadian team of Rosanna Crawford, Megan Heinicke, JP Le Guellec and Scott Perras were 15th, with 9 extra rounds.

The World Championships continue on Friday with the Sprint competitions. The Men start first at 7:00 Eastern, 4:00 Pacific and the Women race at 12:15 Eastern, 9:15 Pacific.

 

Leave a Reply