Two Great Pursuit Finishes in Hochfilzen

The Men’s and Women’s Pursuit competitions were great today, each featuring three-person sprint finishes.

In the Men’s competition the final lap came down to a race between Emil Hegle Svendsen, Tarjei Boe and Benjamin Weger, with Svendsen turning on the jets at just the right time to edge out Boe at the line.

Darya Domracheva, Olga Zaitseva and Magdalena Neuner started the final loop together after Neuner had two misses, Zaitseva one and Domracheva zero in the final shooting stage. The three women skied close together all lap, with Domracheva proving the strongest in the final few hundred metres, finishing ahead of Zaitseva and Neuner.

Lowell Bailey was among the leaders until two penalties in the final shooting stage, eventually finishing 17th (+57.4, two penalties). Brendan Green was 33rd (+2:00.5, three penalties), Jay Hakkinen was 45th (+3:28.7, four penalties) and Tim Burke was 47th (+3:41.5, six penalties).

Here is the IBU article and full results for the Men’s competition.

Zina Kocher only had two penalties and moved up to 23rd (+3:09.5), while Susan Dunklee was 43rd (+5:12.7, seven penalties) and Sara Studebaker was 44th (+5:17.0, four penalties).

Here is the IBU article and full results for the Women’s competition.

The first relay competitions of the season are tomorrow. The Men’s Relay starts at 4:30 Eastern, 1:30 Pacific and the Women’s Relay is at 8:30 Eastern, 5:30 Pacific.

Leave a Reply