The Wait is Over! The 2011/2012 Biathlon Season Starts Today with IBU Cup 1 in Oestersund, Sweden

Your long, painful wait for biathlon is over. I love summer, but sometimes I wish we only had two seasons: summer and biathlon.

But enough about that. The 2011/2012 season gets underway early tomorrow morning from Oestersund, Sweden with the Women’s 7.5 km Sprint at IBU Cup 1.

The Women’s Sprint starts at 04:00 Eastern, 01:00 Pacific and is followed by the 10 km Men’s Sprint at 07:00 Eastern, 04:00 Pacific.

The field is quite strong for an IBU Cup event as several World Cup regulars are using the event as a warm up for World Cup #1, which begins on the 30th, also in Oestersund.

Here are the start lists for the Women and the Men.

There are no Canadians or Americans in the field but big names like Helena Ekholm (bib 11), Darya Domracheva (bib 15), Björn Ferry (bib 1) and Martin Fourcade (bib 2) will make sure that these competitions get off to a fast start.

Leave a Reply