Svendsen and Pidhrushna Win World Championship Sprint Gold

Emil Hegle Svendsen and Olena Pidhrushna eked out victories in the Sprint competitions today at the World Championships.

In the Men’s Sprint (results, IBU article) Svendsen and Martin Fourcade each had one penalty, but Svendsen was 8.1 seconds faster. Third place went to Jakov Fak, who shot clean but finished 11.2 seconds back.

Tim Burke was the top North American finisher in 28th place, 1:36.2 back with two penalties. Lowell Bailey (32nd), JP Le Guellec (36th), Russell Currier (44th), Scott Gow (45th) and Leif Nordgren (53rd) also qualified for the Pursuit. Scott Perras was 66th and Nathan Smith was 73rd.

Pidhrushna’s victory in the Women’s Sprint (results, IBU article) was her first IBU World Cup win and her first World Championships medal. Shooting clean, she finished 6.4 seconds ahead of Tora Berger (one penalty) and 22.8 seconds ahead of fellow Ukrainian Vita Semerenko (no penalties).

Annalies Cook (45th), Susan Dunklee (49th) and Megan Heinicke (54th) qualified for the Pursuit. Sara Studebaker was 65th, Hanah Dreissigacker was 71st, Zina Kocher was 74th, Rosanna Crawford was 77th and Audrey Vaillancourt was 83rd.

The Pursuit competitions are tomorrow with the Men starting at 7:00 Eastern, 4:00 Pacific and the Women starting at 10:15 Eastern, 7:15 Pacific.

Leave a Reply