Sprint Victory Gives Fourcade 2 Wins in a Row

Martin Fourcade followed up his dominant victory in Friday’s Individual with a fortunate victory in today’s Sprint. Fredrik Lindstrom looked well on his way to a victory in his home country after shooting clean, but a fall on the final lap cost him crucial seconds and he ended up 6.5 seconds behind Fourcade, who had one penalty. Tim Burke scored the first podium of the season for a North American, shooting clean and finishing 31.3 seconds back.

Four other North Americans qualified for tomorrow’s Pursuit: Lowell Bailey was 14th (+1:06.6, one penalty), Scott Perras was 34th (+1:42.8, two penalties), Leif Nordgren was 41st (+1:56.6, one penalty) and Nathan Smith was 45th (+2:09.0, one penalty). JP Le Guellec finished 69th, Jeremy Teela was 87th and Sean Doherty was 89th.

Here is the IBU article and the results for the competition.

IBU World Cup 1 wraps up tomorrow with the Women’s Pursuit (start list) at 2:30 Pacific, 5:30 Eastern and the Men’s Pursuit (start list) at 4:30 Pacific, 7:30 Eastern.

Leave a Reply