Siberian Sprint Victories for Fourcade, Makarainen

Martin Fourcade and Kaisa Makarainen were victorious in the final Sprint competitions of the season in Khanty-Mansiysk.

Fourcade’s victory also meant that he won the Sprint Cup for the season, and he is all but guaranteed to win the Total Score Cup as well with a huge lead over Anton Shipulin. Shipulin finished second in the Sprint, with Benedikt Doll earning his first career podium finish in third.

Canada’s Nathan Smith was 5th place, only 34 seconds behind Fourcade after one penalty. Leif Nordgren was 21st, Brendan Green 30th, Lowell Bailey 51st and Tim Burke 55th.

Makarainen’s victory in the Women’s Sprint tightened the standings in the Women’s Total Score Cup with just two competitions to go. Makarainen is now just 9 points behind Darya Domracheva, after Laura Dahlmeier finished second and Domracheva third.

Hannah Dreissigacker set a personal best with a 14th place finish, while Susan Dunklee (26th), Rosanna Crawford (28th) were the only other North Americans competing.

The final Pursuit competitions of the year are tomorrow, with the Men starting it off at 5:30 Eastern 2:30 Pacific. The Women’s competition is at a more reasonable 9:00 Eastern, 6:00 Pacific.

Leave a Reply