Norway Wins Men’s Relay Gold at World Championships, U.S. in Sixth

The Norwegian team of Ole Einar Björndalen, Alexander Os, Emil Hegle Svendsen and Tarjei Boe earned gold medals in the Men’s 4 x 7.5 km Relay at the IBU World Championships today.

26 teams competed in the Relay, resulting in a crowded first loop that saw a few athletes getting tangled up with each other and a broken ski pole.

Norway teamNorway won despite two penalties along with their ten extra rounds, finishing in a time of 1:16:13.9. Second place went to the home team of Russia, cheered on by their supporters to finish 13.4 seconds back with eight extra rounds and no penalties. The Ukraine won a surprising third place, 28 seconds back with ten extra rounds and no penalties.

The U.S. relay team of Lowell Bailey, Jay Hakkinen, Time Burke and Leif Nordgren had a spectacular competition. The 13th place ranked team finished in sixth place, 38.1 seconds back with fourteen extra rounds and no penalties.

Canada also had a strong competition, finishing in 11th place, 1:36.6 back with eleven extra rounds and no penalties.

Here are the results and the IBU article on the Men’s Relay.

Tomorrow features the Men’s and Women’s Mass Start competitions, where Norway’s Tarjei Boe will look to earn his sixth World Championships medal in six competitions.

The Women’s competition (start list) begins at 06:30 Eastern, 03:30 Pacific and the Men’s competition (start list) is at 08:30 Eastern, 05:30 Pacific. Leif Nordgren is the only North American competitor in the Mass Starts, wearing bib 28.

Leave a Reply