Neuner Edges Out Berger in Östersund Sprint

Magdalena Neuner turned on the afterburners over the final 1.5km to claim first place in the Sprint, just 0.2 seconds ahead of Tora Berger. Neuner and Berger each had one penalty. Kaisa Mäkäräinen came in third place (+15.2, two penalties).

It was a great competition for the Canadian and American teams, with three Canadians and two Americans qualifying for tomorrow’s Pursuit. Zina Kocher was 15th (+1:03.1), despite three penalties. Susan Dunklee was a personal best 28th (+1:43.8, two penalties), Megan Imrie was 33rd (+1:52.6, two penalties), Sara Studebaker was 46th (+2:31.4, two penalties) and Rosanna Crawford was 56th (+2:56.0, two penalties).

Lanny Barnes was 65th (+3:11.0, two penalties) and Laura Spector was 73rd (+3:43.5, three penalties).

Here is the IBU writeup and the complete results for the competition.

IBU World Cup 1 concludes tomorrow with the Men’s (6:15 Eastern, 3:15 Pacific) and Women’s (8:30 Eastern, 5:30 Pacific) Pursuit competitions. Here are the start lists for the Men and Women.

Leave a Reply