Men’s Sprint Produces Tie for First

Lukas Hofer and Simon Schempp tied for first place in today’s Men’s Sprint with identical times.

Hofer had one penalty while Schempp shot clean, and both crossed the finish line in a time of 24:44.9. Ties are not uncommon in Sprint competitions, but I can’t recall a tie for first place happening before. Initially, it appeared that Schempp had actually beaten Hofer by three tenths of a second, but the IBU news release on the competition goes into some detail explaining how the timing company verified the results through the backup systems, confirming the tie down to tenths of a second.

Third place on the podium went to Arnd Peiffer, only 4.3 seconds back after also shooting clean. Canada’s Brendan Green had a career-best 8th place finish, 36.6 seconds off the winning pace after shooting clean.

Lowell Bailey (19th, +1:10.2, two penalties), Nathan Smith (22nd, +1:15.9, one penalty), Tim Burke (50th, +1:57.2, three penalties) and Russell Currier (60th, +2:15.6, four penalties) also qualified for tomorrow’s Pursuit competition.

Scott Perras was 65th, and both Leif Nordren and Sean Doherty did not start.

The Women’s Pursuit gets started early tomorrow, at 5:15 Eastern, 2:15 Pacific. The Men start at 8:30 Eastern, 5:30 Pacific.

Leave a Reply