IBU European Open Championships – Sprint Results

The Sprint competitions at the IBU Open European Championships finished today, with the Men’s and Women’s classes being run. The Junior Men and Junior Women’s competitions were held yesterday.

Norwegians took both top spots on the podium in the Men’s and Women’s classes, with Marte Olsbu and Lars Helge Birkeland taking the titles of Open European Sprint Champions.

Victoria Padial Hernandez of Spain had the best result of her career with a second place finish, shooting clean and finishing only 1.2 seconds behind Olsbu. Ukraine’s Iana Bondar with three penalties was only 5.4 seconds back. 16 women were within a minute of Olsbu, making for an exciting Pursuit competition tomorrow.

Russia’s Maxim Tsvetkov was also a close second, just 6.8 seconds back of Birkeland. Andrejs Rastorgujevs, the Individual competition winner, was on the podium again in third, tied with David Komatz of Austria at 28.4 seconds back.

Tuuli Tomingas of Estonia won the Junior Women’s sprint, ahead of Russians Svetlana Mironova and Uliana Kaisheva.

The Junior Men’s winner was Raman Yaliotnau of Belarus, ahead of Adam Vaclavik of the Czech Republic and Maikol Demetz of Italy.

The Pursuit competitions for all four classes are on tomorrow.

Leave a Reply