Great Day for Canadians and Americans in Holmenkollen Sprints

All eleven competitors from Canada and the United States finished in the top 35 in yesterday’s Sprint competitions, which were won by Magdalena Neuner and Evgeniy Garanichev.

Neuner earned her 30th career World Cup victory, hitting all ten targets in the Women’s Sprint (IBU article, results). Neuner has a healthy lead heading in to tomorrow’s Pursuit, as Darya Domracheva had one penalty and was 38.2 seconds back and Tora Berger was 48.9 seconds back, also with one penalty.

Megan Imrie was the top North American finisher with a career-best 17th place finish. Imrie shot clean and will start 1:46.9 behind Neuner in the Pursuit. Sara Studebaker was 23rd (+2:06.0, one penalty), Zina Kocher was 25th (+2:10.4, three penalties), Annalies Cook was 33rd (+2:30.5, one penalty) and Susan Dunklee was 35th (+2:32.6, three penalties).

Garanichev’s victory in the Men’s Sprint (IBU article, results) was the first of his career. Starting in bib 7 and shooting clean, Garanichev had to wait and watch as Arnd Peiffer matched him on the shooting range and was steadily closing the gap on his splits. Peiffer came close but ended up a mere 0.7 seconds back. Emil Hegle Svendsen was third, 11.8 seconds back with two penalties.

There were two North Americans in the top ten, with Lowell Bailey in 8th (+45.7, one penalty) and Brendan Green finishing with a career-best 9th (+49.6, no penalties). Tim Burke was 15th (1:03.4, one penalty), JP Le Guellec was 20th (+1:14.1, two penalties), Jay Hakkinen was 24th (+1:15.8, one penalty) and Scott Perras was 27th (+1:29.6, one penalty).

The Pursuit competitions are tomorrow, with the Women starting at 7:15 Eastern, 4:15 Pacific and the Men at 9:15 Eastern, 6:15 Pacific.

Leave a Reply