Germans Sweep the Podium in Women’s Sprint at Fort Kent, Maine

Andrea Henkel led the way as German women swept the podium in the 7.5 km Sprint at IBU World Cup #8 in Fort Kent, Maine. Miriam Gössner and Magdalena Neuner rounded out the podium on a cold, windy day in Fort Kent.

Henkel shot clean and finished in a time of 23:20. Gössner had two penalties in standing to finish 10.9 seconds back, while Neuner had one penalty in each of prone and standing to finish 15.8 seconds back. Tora Berger, who has been so dominant lately, is in good position for the Pursuit after a fourth place finish, only 18.8 seconds back with one penalty.

Sara Studebaker continued her run of strong performances this year with a 17th place finish, 1:26.4 back with no penalties. Haley Johnson was 43rd (2:51.2 back, two penalties), Laura Spector was 47th (3:27.5 back, five penalties), Claude Godbout was 48th (3:37.2 back, no penalties), Zina Kocher was 51st (3:42 back, five penalties) and Rosanna Crawford was 56th (6:22.1 back, five penalties).

Here are the complete results and the IBU article on the competition.

Tomorrow’s competitions are the Men’s 12.5 km Pursuit and the Women’s 10 km Pursuit. The Men (start list) begin at 9:15 Eastern time, 6:15 Pacific. The Women (start list) get under way at 12:05 Eastern, 9:05 Pacific.

Leave a Reply