First Wins for Dahlmeier and Fak in Nove Mesto Sprints

Laura Dahlmeier and Jakov Fak won today’s Sprint competitions at World Cup 7 in Nove Mesto. It was Dahlmeier’s first career World Cup victory, and Fak’s first victory of the season.

flowersDahlmeier beat her compatriot Franziska Hildebrand by one second, both athletes having shot clean. Veronika Vitkova of the Czech Republic was third, 13.9 seconds back with one penalty.

Three Americans qualified for tomorrow’s Pursuit competion. Susan Dunklee was the top American in 9th place, 46.3 seconds back with one penalty. Annelies Cook was 28th (+1:19.8, one penalty), Hannah Dreissigacker was 39th (+1:46.4, two penalties) and Clare Egan was 73rd (+3:43.4, four penalties).

It was a day to forget for the Canadian women, with Audrey Vaillancourt finishing 66th (+3:09.7, two penalties), Rosanna Crawford failing to finish after crossfiring in prone, and Megan Heinicke not starting due to a cold.

Joakov FakOn the Men’s side, Fak was the fastest of several competitors who shot clean in the excellent conditions at Nove Mesto. Fak finished 12.8 seconds ahead of Simon Schempp and 26 seconds ahead of Jean-Gui Beatrix, who both also shot clean.

Nathan Smith just missed out on the flower ceremony, finishing 37.7 seconds back in seventh. Leif Nordgren was 16th (+1:04.8, one penalty), Brendan Green was 22nd (+1:12.8, one penalty), Tim Burke was 38th (+1:40.7, three penalties), Macx Davies was 54th (+2:20.9, one penalty), Sean Doherty was 57th (+2:24.3, three penalties), and Scott Gow narrowly missed qualifying for the Pursuit in 63rd (+2:35.7, two penalties).

World Cup 7 draws to a close tomorrow with the Women’s Pursuit at 7:00 Eastern, 4:00 Pacific and the Men’s Pursuit at 9:00 Eastern, 6:00 Pacific.

Leave a Reply