Category Archives: Biathlon Canada

Start Lists for Canadian National Team Trials

The trials for Canada’s national team World Cup and IBU Cup tours kicks off tomorrow in Canmore. There are competitions on November 7, 9 and 10 to determine who will represent Canada to start the 2017-2018 season.

For the World Cup, Scott Gow, Rosanna Crawford and Julia Ransom are all pre-qualified, meaning the top two Women and the top three Men at trials will go to the first World Cup trimester.

The 3rd, 4th and 5th fastest women, the 4th, 5th and 6th fastest men, along with one discretionary pick for women and men, will make up Canada’s IBU Cup team for the first trimester.

Here is the start list for tomorrow’s Sprint competition:

Biathlon Canada Names 2017-2018 Training Teams

Biathlon Canada has named its training teams for the 2017-2018 season:

There are 4 teams: Senior, ā€œZā€, Junior and Youth Development.

Chelsea Little writes about the rationale for the different teams on Fasterskier:

Draft North American 2017-2018 Competition Schedule

Biathlon Canada has published the draft domestic competition schedule for the 2017-2018 season.

The draft features 7 North American Cup events, starting with the North American Cup 1 in Canmore, Alberta on November 24-26.

The Canadian Biathlon Championships conclude the domestic season in Charlo, New Brunswick on March 20-25.

The Western Canadian Championships will be held in connection with a North American Cup in Red Deer. This is the test event for the 2019 Canada Winter Games. The Eastern Canadian Championships will be in Brookvale, PEI.

Also of note is the IBU Cup and Youth/Junior World Championship trials which will be in Whistler, BC on January 5-7.

Click here to see the full draft schedule.