Boe and Makarainen Both Repeat in Kontiolahti Sprints

Johannes Boe and Kaisa Makarainen each won their second Sprint competition in a row at IBU World Cup 8 in Kontiolahti, Finland.

Boe shot clean for the second competition in a row, skiing to a 18.5 second lead over Alexander Loginov and a 19.4 second lead over Lowell Bailey, who earned his first-ever World Cup podium. Nathan Smith finished 8th, 33.6 seconds back. All of the North Americans qualified for the Pursuit, as Tim Burke was 19th, Leif Nordgren was 27th, Brendan Green was 28th and Scott Gow was 42nd.

Makarainen had one penalty in prone but held off clean shooting Tora Berger (+6.2) and Gabriela Soukalova (+12.9) for her second victory in a row on home soil. Susan Dunklee had one penalty in standing and finished 8th, 35.7 seconds back. Rosanna Crawford was 16th, Hannah Dreissigacker 41st, Zina Kocher 54th, Sara Studebaker 58th, Megan Heinicke 60th and Annalies Cook was 76th.

Tomorrow are the Pursuit competitions, with the Women starting at 4:45 Eastern, 1:45 Pacific and the Men starting at 6:15 Eastern, 3:15 Pacific.

Leave a Reply