Arnd Peiffer Makes it Back-to-Back Wins for Germany in Oberhof

German fans once again had much to cheer about as Arnd Peiffer won the Sprint competition today at IBU World Cup 4 in Oberhof, Germany.

Peiffer was urged on to victory by thousands of fans, overcoming one penalty in prone to edge our Simon Fourcade by 1.1 seconds and Evgeny Ustyugov by 4.8 seconds, both of whom shot clean.

Jay Hakkinen was the top American in 28th place (+1:28.4, one penalty). Tim Burke was 36th (+1:46.1, three penalties), Lowell Bailey was 45th (+2:06.2, four penalties) Leif Nordgren was 70th (+2:48.0, three penalties).

Here is the IBU article and results for the competition.

Tomorrow is a big day with the first Mass Start competitions of the season. The Women (start list) are first, starting at 7:30 Eastern, 4:30 Pacific. The Men (start list) get under way at 9:30 Eastern, 6:30 Pacific.

There are no North Americans in the Women’s competition, but Lowell Bailey is bib 12 in the Men’s competition.

Leave a Reply